Three UB faculty members named SUNY Distinguished Professors

Three UB faculty members were appointed SUNY Distinguished Professors, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system, at the SUNY Board of Trustees’ meeting on Nov. 6.

Named Distinguished Professors in recognition of their national or international prominence in their fields were Michael Constantinou, professor in the Department of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering, and Gene D. Morse, professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Johannes Nitsche, professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, was named a Distinguished Teaching Professor, which recognizes outstanding teaching at the graduate, undergraduate and professional levels.

The rank of distinguished professor is an order above full professorship and has three co-equal designations: distinguished professor, distinguished service professor and distinguished teaching professor.

“The SUNY distinguished faculty bring our students the best SUNY has to offer — quality teaching and instruction, innovative research opportunities and engaging community service,” SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher said in announcing the recipients. “We are proud to recognize the leadership and academic excellence of our distinguished faculty and the positive impact they have on students and campuses, as well as communities here in New York and around the globe.

“Many thanks and congratulations to this most-recent class of distinguished faculty.”

The UB faculty members were among 11 faculty members from across the SUNY system appointed by the trustees at last week’s meeting.

Read more.

Comments are closed.