Five at UB named SUNY Distinguished Professors

Five more University at Buffalo faculty members have been appointed SUNY Distinguished Professors, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.

Named Distinguished Professors in recognition of their national or international prominence in their fields were Rajan Batta, professor of industrial and systems engineering; Jeremy Finn, professor in the Graduate School of Education; Joseph A. Gardella Jr., John and Frances Larkin Professor of Chemistry; and Eckhard Krotscheck, professor in the Department of Physics.

Jim D. Atwood, professor of chemistry, was named a Distinguished Teaching Professor in recognition of his outstanding teaching at the graduate, undergraduate and professional levels.

The rank of distinguished professor is an order above full professorship and has three co-equal designations: distinguished professor, distinguished service professor and distinguished teaching professor.

The five were among nine SUNY faculty members appointed to the distinguished professor ranks by the SUNY Board of Trustees at its Nov. 15 meeting.

Read more.

Comments are closed.